Commercial Essentials

The top things I want to include in my commercial.

People

I want the commercial to really focus on the faces involved with the business. This should be effective in gaining the attention of my target audience. People have emotions and are expressive, this is much more interesting than just watching a bunch of boring exterior shots of a building. What the people are doing will be important, having them be active and moving will keep the pace of the video and the audience interested.

The Script

The script is crucial. I like to follow the “Third Grader” rule. This means that you shouldn’t use language that a third grader wouldn’t understand. People have show attention spans, especially when it comes to visual. We need to stimulated. So this means a fast moving, east to grasp script that uses simple, matter of fact language. This will be key in engaging and connecting with my audience. According to one article I read, written by Apryl Duncan at About.com,

Keep them [lines] short and punchy. Your audio should also tell the customer what you’re advertising even if the customer is in another room and can’t see the TV when your commercial airs.

 

Call to action

I think having a call to action is CRUCIAL. My whole purpose of making this commercial is to not only get people into the store, but to engage our customer into becoming more interactive with us on the web and social media websites on a constant, regular basis. I am trying to establish a trust and a relationship that will build a long term customer base. I need to come up with a way to incorporate this naturally into the script so it feels organic and not forced or cheesy.

Leave a comment