Artist Statement rough draft

Working primarily commercial and experimental video mediums, I consider my work a collection of digital abstract nonfictions, commentating on the contrasts of social values and constructs in today’s media culture with that of America’s past. In this pursuit, I construct new montages by creating social narratives, fusing archival and present day popular mixed media messages with the nostalgia of yesteryear with today’s idiosyncrasies. As I collect and recreate these visual narratives, I extract and align those with the social constructs I have experienced in my personal everyday life, extracting those moments that provoke an emotional resonation into my own self.

I am inspired by popular culture, Americana, self-recognition in dreams, as well as the human follies and mental inertias that further drives our culture into an ever influenced mass media latent world. In entwining the past and the present in such a way, I hope to create enigmatic works of art that resonates within viewers and invites them to create their own nostalgic experience, reflecting their experience on the screen onto their own histories, nostalgia, and memory. -ALJ

Leave a comment